PRACTICAL ASPECTS  

  • Emergencies and healthcare. There is a regional hospital in Yverdon with an emergency service (024 424 44 44). There are numerous GPs and specialists in Yverdon. Appointments can be made by phone, with payment in cash. There is a very large university hospital only about 45 minutes away from Mauborget in Lausanne (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois - CHUV - 021 314 11 11) that is probably the best hospital in the French part of Switzerland.
  • Language. Yverdon is in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. Services in English are available at the train station, the hospital and the major banks. English-speaking newspapers such as the Herald Tribune can be found in Yverdon near the train station.
  • Electricity. Like everywhere else in continental Europe, electric current is 220 V. It should be noted that electrical outlets are different from EU area. Adapters can be found at the Migros, one of the large supermarkets in Yverdon. We keep a couple of EU/Swiss adapters.
  • Post / Telephone. The main post office is next to the train station in Yverdon and on the main street  of Sainte Croix, across the street from the Coop store. Phone booths typically work with phone cards that can be purchased at newsstands.
  • Banking. There are a number of large banks, including UBS and Credit Suisse, two large international banks. Foreign exchange and Traveller's Checks services are available everywhere (including in train stations). There are numerous ATMs enabled with the international debit arrangements (PLUS, CIRRUS, etc.).
  • Where to shop. Yverdon has a number of general supermarkets that sell food, a farmers' market twice a week all year round (Tuesday and Saturdays, particularly nice on Saturdays in the summertime), a decent shopping district in the pedestrian area and many restaurants, bars, coffee and pastry shops. In the outskirts of Yverdon (highway exit Yverdon-Ouest), an area called “En Chamard” has several “box stores”, including the Migros and Coop, the two largest retailers in Switzerland; a couple of hardware-gardening and sport equipment stores; and the unavoidable McDonalds! Generally speaking, meat is expensive in Switzerland. Lausanne and Geneva have renowned shopping districts for clothing and luxury products.  
  • Eating out. It is an expensive experience to eat out in Switzerland and you should expect to spend around €15 for a lunch including drink and coffee and upwards of €20-25 for dinner, if you want to stay away from pasta and pizza. As indicated above, there is one restaurant in Mauborget, and a number of “mountain restaurants” that you should be able to find on the local maps mentioned above, or simply ask our neighbours. In the villages surrounding the town, particularly around Lac de Neuchatel, there are a number of good restaurants as well that offer the local fish specialties, including the famous “filets de perches” (small lake-perch filets in butter sauce). There are no Michelin star-studded restaurants in Yverdon, but there are a number of decent places where you can eat good pizzas and pasta (there is a very large community of Italian descent) and a very good restaurant at the public beach. The best dining place in Yverdon is probably at the location of public baths and you should reserve if you want to go there.
  • Safety. Switzerland is a safe country, but like anywhere else, petty crime exists, even in areas such as Mauborget, where chalets have been broken into in the past. Locking doors of cars and houses is necessary at all times.
  • Weather. Weather patterns are quite influenced by the mountains and the lake system in Switzerland, and the temperatures can vary accordingly. In Yverdon, temperatures are usually between 20°C and 30°C in the summer time and between - 5°C and +10°C in the winter. In the fall and the spring, temperatures are less predictable. In Mauborget, temperatures are between 5°C to 10°C colder than in the plains.

Top

Aspects pratiques  

  • Urgences et santé. L’hôpital régional d’Yverdon a un service d’urgence (024 424 44 44). Il y a de nombreux médecins généralistes et spécialistes à Yverdon (vous n’avez pas besoin d’une référence d’un généraliste en Suisse pour prendre rendez-vous avec un spécialiste). Les rendez-vous peuvent être pris par téléphone, et vous réglerez directement au comptant. Il y a un hôpital universitaire très réputé à Lausanne (Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois - CHUV - 021 314 11 11), à environ 45 minutes en voiture de Mauborget.
  • Langue. Yverdon se trouve dans la partie francophone de la Suisse (la Suisse romande). On peut obtenir des services en anglais, allemand, et parfois en italien et espagnol à la gare ferroviaire, à l’hôpital et dans les banques principales. Vous pourrez trouver la presse étrangère dans plusieurs points de vente, et notamment près de la gare.
  • Electricité. Comme partout en Europe continentale, le courant électrique est le 220 V, mais les prises sont différentes de celles dans l’Union Européenne. Des adaptateurs peuvent être achetés dans les grands magasins à Yverdon, et nous en gardons quelques uns au chalet « au cas où… ».
  • Poste / Téléphone. Le Bureau de Poste principal se trouve à côté de la gare d’Yverdon ou au centre de Sainte-Croix, en face du magasin Coop. Les cabines téléphoniques ne fonctionnent qu’avec des cartes téléphoniques qui peuvent être achetées dans des kiosques à journaux.
  • Banques et moyens de paiement. La Suisse est le pays des banques, et vous en trouverez beaucoup à Yverdon, y compris l’UBS et le Crédit Suisse, deux grandes banques internationales. Vous pourrez faire du change et encaisser des Traveller’s checks à de nombreux endroits sans problème. Il y a également de nombreux points de retraits automatiques qui fonctionnent avec les systèmes internationaux les plus répandus (PLUS, CIRRUS, etc.). L’usage des cartes de crédit y est également très répandu, en revanche les chèques ne sont pas utilisés en Suisse.
  • Où faire vos courses. Yverdon a de nombreux grands magasins, un marché ouvert deux fois par semaine toute l’année (les mardis et samedis, ces derniers étant particulièrement agréables en été), une zone piétonne avec de nombreuses boutiques et plusieurs restaurants avec des terrasses, ainsi que des bars, et tea-rooms/confiseries. Il existe également une zone aménagée appelée « En Chamard » (sortie « Yverdon Ouest » sur l’autoroute) qui a de nombreux grands magasins, y compris Migros et Coop, les deux plus grands distributeurs en Suisse ; quelques « Do-it-yourself » et magasins de sport ; et l’inévitable McDo !!! De manière générale, la viande est très chère en Suisse comparé aux pays avoisinants. Lausanne et Genève sont naturellement bien mieux achalandés pour le vrai shopping, et surtout pour les produits de luxe !!!
  • Manger au restaurant. C’est cher de manger au restaurant en Suisse, et vous devrez compter environ l’équivalent de €15 au minimum pour un déjeuner avec une boisson et un café, et entre €20-25 pour un dîner, si vous n’êtes pas intéressé ni par les pâtes, ni par les pizzas (qui sont par ailleurs excellentes en Suisse, vu la très forte présence italienne). Le service est compris. Il y a deux restaurants à Mauborget, et de nombreux « restaurants d’alpage » que vous devriez pouvoir localiser sur les cartes laissées au chalet ou simplement en vous adressant à nos charmants voisins. Dans les villages autour d’Yverdon, et plus particulièrement au bord du lac de Neuchâtel, il y a de nombreux restaurants tout à fait convenables qui offrent des spécialités de poisson, y compris les fameux filets de perches préparés meunière ou frits. Le meilleur restaurant de la région est probablement celui qui se trouve à côté du Centre Thermal à Yverdon, et il est recommandé de réserver pour ne pas avoir de mauvaises surprises.
  • Sécurité. La Suisse est un pays sûr, mais comme partout ailleurs, la délinquance et les petits délits existent, même dans des endroits aussi reculés que Mauborget où des résidences secondaires ont été cambriolées dans le passé. Il est nécessaire de fermer les portes de voiture et du chalet à clé.
  • Météo / climat. Le temps est très influencé par le relief montagneux et la présence des lacs dans cette partie de la Suisse, et les variations de températures peuvent être importantes en toute saison. En plaine (à Yverdon), la température oscille entre 20°C et 30°C en été, et entre –5°C et +10° C en hiver. A Mauborget, les températures sont entre 5°C et 10°C plus froides.   

    Haut